American Legion Emblem

Past Presidents Parley - Cavalade of Memories

National Website:                                       



Past Presidents Parley  2019-2020

Vickie L Klinkhammer

1630 Cornell St             

Dubuque, Iowa 52001

Cell: 563-663-0076



What is this program, and why do we have it?  The purpose of the Past Presidents Parley (PPP) committee is to utilize the experience and knowledge of past Auxiliary leaders for training and encouragement of future Auxiliary leaders. Through the Past Presidents Parley committee, women who have served as unit, county, district, department, and national presidents have an opportunity to continue in active service to the Auxiliary, helping ensure strong future leadership for the organization. The Past Presidents Parley also recognizes and honors outstanding unit members through Unit Member of the Year, and female veterans through the Salute to Servicewomen awards.


What can we do?

 1.  Promote mentoring opportunities of unit members. As former leaders, past presidents at all levels are encouraged to continue their support to the organization by accepting responsibility to contribute their experience, knowledge and wisdom. As ambassadors for the organization, there is much information to share in achieving a stronger organization, at each level, by sustaining growth through positive actions.


2.  Promote and submit nominations for the Unit Member of the Year Award. This award recognizes the contributions made by a valued unit member who has not served higher than Unit President. Her contributions must have been made in the current 2019-2020 year. Her current membership dues must be paid. This information must be sent to the District President two (2) weeks prior to District Spring Conference. No Exceptions. The District President forwards her winner to me by April 30, 2020. Only select one member to compete for department recognition. Also honor the member in her unit for significant contributions made to the unit. Encourage other units to participate. All Unit Members of the Year are recognized at National Convention.


 3. Promote and submit nominations for the Salute to Servicewomen Award. The PPP will continue to recognize the military service of female personnel, including the National Guard and Reserve components, representing each branch of service at the national convention. Send entries to your District President by April 15, 2020. District Presidents send your entry to me by April 30, 2020. Send only one entry per branch, per District.                                                                                                           


Take the time to share a favorite story about the positive impact you or someone you know has had on our mission. It helps tell the world who we are, what we do, and why we matter!



Programs action Plan 2019-2020





© 2019 Department of Iowa | All Rights Reserved

Headquarters Administration